Jefferson Parish Juvenile Court History

Jefferson Parish Juvenile Court was established by the Louisiana Legislature in 1958. Juvenile Court has jurisdiction over children within the 24th Judicial District, Jefferson Parish. In general, matters of juvenile delinquency, Families in Need of Services, Child in Need of Care, Adoption, Juvenile Traffic Violations, Criminal Neglect of Family & Child Support, and certain special proceedings are heard in Juvenile Court. This jurisdiction and the type of proceedings are published in the Louisiana Children's Code.

The first Judge of newly created Juvenile Court for Jefferson Parish was Leo McCune, who previously served as a Judge in the 24th JDC. Upon Judge McCune's retirement in 1972, Sol Gothard was elected and served as Judge of Section A until 1986. From 1986 to 1987 Judge Nestor L. Currault Jr. served as Judge Pro Temp of Section A until Ann Murry Keller was elected to the bench in 1987, serving as Judge until May of 2023. In 2023, Jennifer Guillot Womble was elected to serve as the Judge for Section A

Thomas P. McGee was elected to the newly created Section B in 1974, and served as Judge of that section until his retirement in 1996. Andrea Price Janzen was elected and served as Judge of Section B from 1996 until her retirement in 2018. In 2018, Amanda Chauvin Calogero was elected to serve as the Judge of Section B.

Nancy Amato Konrad was elected to a new Section C in 1980. Following her retirement in 2013, Barron Burmaster was elected and currently serves as Judge in Section C.